Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: Suggestions please -- Insteon is DNR Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
bpmcgee
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 02 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Posted: February 29 2008 at 19:54 | IP Logged Quote bpmcgee

Okay guys. I'm totally frustrated with Insteon. Not that it doesn't WORK -- it seems to work great. It's just that I bought 6 insteon devices less than a year ago -- 3 wall warts, a relay switch, a dimmer switch, and a PLC. And ALL SIX of them are DEAD! The PLC, in fact, is dead twice! I replaced it once already and it's dead again.

There's NO WAY that I'm going to continue to expand the installation of Insteon into my house if I have to replace the devices more often than I replace light bulbs. It's not happening.

I read that we're going to get z-wave support here in Powerhome sometime (soon I hope). Any other suggestions for devices? I'd really like to continue using Powerhome, but there's no way I can rationalize using more crappy Insteon devices.

B
Back to Top View bpmcgee's Profile Search for other posts by bpmcgee
 
bhlonewolf
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: March 29 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 198
Posted: February 29 2008 at 21:12 | IP Logged Quote bhlonewolf

That's too bad! Not that I'm doubting your experience, but mine is completely opposite -- I have about 30 or so devices for about a year now (some less, some more) and had maybe one or two failures, both wall warts, no switches. Knock on wood.
Back to Top View bhlonewolf's Profile Search for other posts by bhlonewolf
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2810
Posted: February 29 2008 at 23:10 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

I've had three Insteon failures (two wall warts and one dimmer). This is nothing close to what I've heard from the community at large.

UPB is what I hear about the most, followed by Z-Wave. There are complaints about all of these, though.
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
ginigma
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: June 18 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 127
Posted: March 01 2008 at 17:03 | IP Logged Quote ginigma

I've never had a problem with the plug-in modules.
Are your switches experiencing the dreaded paddle problem, where it takes multiple presses to turn them on/off? Do they work remotely via PH? Smarthome will RMA the paddle problem switches.

__________________
Insteon (40 devices) ^ PowerHome (435 links) ^ Logitech Harmony 880
Back to Top View ginigma's Profile Search for other posts by ginigma Visit ginigma's Homepage
 
bpmcgee
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 02 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Posted: March 01 2008 at 19:38 | IP Logged Quote bpmcgee

Ginigma,

Nothing is responding to commands any more. One at a time, several weeks apart, each one went dead.

Even if Smarthome would replace every piece that's failed, I'm just not interested. With 100% failure rate, it's only a matter of time before they fail AGAIN. And eventually Smarthome will refuse to RMA them and I'll be in exactly the same spot I am now.

And guys, I appreciate your condolences, and your experiences. I've already decided, though, that Insteon is NOT for me. I'm really looking for suggestions on what else to try.

Any idea where z-wave support is with Powerhome?

B
Back to Top View bpmcgee's Profile Search for other posts by bpmcgee
 
tbeckman
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: December 30 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 149
Posted: March 03 2008 at 14:29 | IP Logged Quote tbeckman

Hmmm, I have over 60 insteon switches in my house and all appear to be working fine. I have only had them for about 4 months. On a related note, does anyone suggest or use whole house power line conditioners to reduce the risk of blowing out switches during a surge or has anyone has switches go out? Thanks.
Back to Top View tbeckman's Profile Search for other posts by tbeckman
 
bpmcgee
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 02 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Posted: March 03 2008 at 15:30 | IP Logged Quote bpmcgee

tbeckman wrote:
Hmmm, I have over 60 insteon switches in my house and all appear to be working fine. I have only had them for about 4 months. On a related note, does anyone suggest or use whole house power line conditioners to reduce the risk of blowing out switches during a surge or has anyone has switches go out? Thanks.



T,

As I said, I'm looking for suggestions for things OTHER than Insteon.

Also, please don't hijack my thread -- especially when I haven't gotten any (useful) responses yet.

B
Back to Top View bpmcgee's Profile Search for other posts by bpmcgee
 
ginigma
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: June 18 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 127
Posted: March 03 2008 at 16:03 | IP Logged Quote ginigma

Well, Powerhome only supports X10 and Insteon, so you're stuck if you want to continue using PH. I've heard of others moving from insteon to Zwave and they've been happy. Take a look over at cocoontech.com for some threads. UPB Gen 2 is supposedly good as well. I've never used either of those technologies. Just going by what I've read in other HA forums.

__________________
Insteon (40 devices) ^ PowerHome (435 links) ^ Logitech Harmony 880
Back to Top View ginigma's Profile Search for other posts by ginigma Visit ginigma's Homepage
 
bpmcgee
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 02 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Posted: March 03 2008 at 16:09 | IP Logged Quote bpmcgee

Thanks, Ginigma! I've done some reading about zwave, but I hadn't heard of UPB. I'll check it out!

B
Back to Top View bpmcgee's Profile Search for other posts by bpmcgee
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2810
Posted: March 03 2008 at 19:29 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

Heh. You didn't read my post then...

Quote:
UPB is what I hear about the most, followed by Z-Wave. There are complaints about all of these, though.
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
bpmcgee
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 02 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Posted: March 03 2008 at 20:01 | IP Logged Quote bpmcgee

Sorry, Tony. I meant that I hadn't done any reading about it. Now that you mention it, I HAD read your post!

My mistake!

Do you know, off the top of your head, the status of z-wave support in Powerhome? No big deal, I also posted that question in the "features request" area.

Thanks to BOTH of you!

B
Back to Top View bpmcgee's Profile Search for other posts by bpmcgee
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2810
Posted: March 03 2008 at 22:20 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

No, sorry. All I know is what Dave has posted...

Quote:
February 07 2007
[Z-Wave is] pretty high on the list. Ive got the Elk ethernet interface after this next version and then Ive got Stargate, Z-Wave, UPB, Global Cache, and Insteon PLM. Im not sure what order would be next though. Im open to suggestions from users as to which controller should receive priority.
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
tbeckman
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: December 30 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 149
Posted: March 03 2008 at 22:50 | IP Logged Quote tbeckman


My vote would be Elk Ethernet then Insteon PLM. Thanks.

TonyNo wrote:
No, sorry. All I know is what Dave has posted...

Quote:
February 07 2007
[Z-Wave is] pretty high on the list. Ive got the Elk ethernet interface after this next version and then Ive got Stargate, Z-Wave, UPB, Global Cache, and Insteon PLM. Im not sure what order would be next though. Im open to suggestions from users as to which controller should receive priority.
Back to Top View tbeckman's Profile Search for other posts by tbeckman
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2810
Posted: March 04 2008 at 07:55 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

I believe the Elk Ethernet bit is already done.
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
tbeckman
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: December 30 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 149
Posted: March 04 2008 at 12:07 | IP Logged Quote tbeckman

TonyNo wrote:
I believe the Elk Ethernet bit is already done.


It is? I Dave made it sound like he still had to do the interface after this next version... is there a beta version I don't know about?
Back to Top View tbeckman's Profile Search for other posts by tbeckman
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4094
Posted: March 04 2008 at 17:02 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Heh, version 1.03.4.12 has support for both the serial and ethernet interfaces to the Elk as well as the Global Cache (another interface on the previous list). So the remaining ones are Stargate, Z-Wave, UPB, and the Insteon PLM.

Im working on the Insteon PLM at this very moment and plan to have at least some UPB support in the next beta (.13) so that will leave Stargate and Z-Wave.

So Z-Wave is still a little bit out...probably too far for you to wait .

Another possibility though is using the currently available PowerHome xPL plugin along with the existing Z-Wave xPL module. This combination *should* allow you to send and receive Z-Wave commands, however, it would take a little work and it wouldnt be integrated like a native Z-Wave interface will be. But it would be an interesting experiment and may allow someone to dabble with Z-Wave until the native interface is available.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
bpmcgee
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: May 02 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Posted: March 04 2008 at 17:18 | IP Logged Quote bpmcgee

Dave,

I'm happy to hear about UPB in the upcoming beta! From what I'm reading, I think UPB is going to be a better solution for me.

Any idea the time frame on the .13 beta? Weeks? Months? Epochs?

B
Back to Top View bpmcgee's Profile Search for other posts by bpmcgee
 
ginigma
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: June 18 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 127
Posted: March 04 2008 at 21:58 | IP Logged Quote ginigma

It's been a while since the last release. I'm getting "upgrade withdrawals." Need an upgrade soon to calm my jitters.

__________________
Insteon (40 devices) ^ PowerHome (435 links) ^ Logitech Harmony 880
Back to Top View ginigma's Profile Search for other posts by ginigma Visit ginigma's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum